Mocha Nut Cookies – Christmas recipe

christmas-lightsIn the spirit of the holidays and the sharing nature of social media, I thought I’d post a favorite recipe.

The chocoholic in me wants to make these cookies at anytime of year, but I save them for the holidays.

This is a wonderful recipe that my mom made each year from as far back as I can remember.

Just doesn’t seem like Christmas without them.  Hope you enjoy them. If you make the recipe, come back  here and let me know what you think.   I’d love to see new recipes (savory or sweet) so if you feel like sharing one via link in comment section, please do!

 

(Note: I usually triple the recipe ingredients)

Ingredients:

1 cup soft butter

½ cup granulated sugar

2 tsp. vanilla

¼ cup cocoa (unsweetened, I use Hershey’s)

2 tsp. instant coffee

1 1/3 cup sifted flour

½ tsp salt

1 ½ cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Confectioners sugar (use after cookies are baked)

Steps:

Blend butter, granulated sugar and vanilla

Add in cocoa, instant coffee

Gradually add in flour and salt

Add walnuts

Roll into small balls (size of quarter)

Placed on non-stick or greased cookie sheet  

Bake at 325° for 15 minutes

Roll in confectioners sugar once they are cooled (still delicious if you decide to skip this step)

Leave a Reply

